Military sensor manufacturer will be next space tourist

PRINCETON, N.J., 29 Sept. 2005. Gregory H. Olsen, the co-founder and chairman of the board of Sensors Unlimited, Inc. (SUI), is scheduled to launch to the International Space Station (ISS) on September 30.

Sep 29th, 2005

PRINCETON, N.J., 29 Sept. 2005. Gregory H. Olsen, the co-founder and chairman of the board of Sensors Unlimited, Inc. (SUI), is scheduled to launch to the International Space Station (ISS) on September 30.

He will ride on the Soyuz TMA-7 orbital spaceflight mission, scheduled to launch at 11:54 pm eastern time from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Olsen will be the world's third private space explorer and the first space tourist since the space shuttle Columbia tragedy. While in flight, Dr. Olsen plans to conduct remote sensing and astronomy research projects incorporating Sensors Unlimited's shortwave infrared (SWIR) imaging technology.

Dr. Olsen's launch and return landing will be covered by NASA TV and online at www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/MM_NTV_Breaking.html.

For further coverage, view a series of live webcasts from the International Space Station from Oct. 3 to 7. They will be carried on these sites:

Oct. 3, 2005 (Monday) @ 11:00 AM ET/ 8:00 AM PT, ISS Transmission Test: http://www.webcastgroup.com/client/start.asp?wid=0731003051871

Oct. 4, 2005 (Tuesday) @ 6:27 PM ET/ 3:27 PM PT, ISS Live Transmission:
http://www.webcastgroup.com/client/start.asp?wid=0731004051872

Oct. 6, 2005 (Thursday) @ 5:42 PM ET/ 2:42 PM PT, ISS Live Transmission with 2-Way Audio at Princeton University, NJ:
http://www.webcastgroup.com/client/start.asp?wid=0731006051873

Oct. 7, 2005 (Friday) @ 6:07 PM ET/ 3:07 PM PT, ISS Live Transmission:
http://www.webcastgroup.com/client/start.asp?wid=0731007051874

Sensors Unlimited, Inc. (SUI), founded in 1991 to pioneer design and production of near-infrared detectors, is the world leader in indium gallium arsenide (InGaAs) imaging technology. With in-house capabilities, Sensors Unlimited manufactures advanced infrared cameras, shortwave-IR and near-IR focal plane arrays and revolutionary high speed PIN and avalanche photodiodes. Their proprietary foundry and expertise delivers reliable, high performance products for a variety of critical military, security, industrial, commercial and telecommunications industries. Applications include covert surveillance, machine vision, night vision, health and safety protocols, historical art inspection and more. For more information, see www.sensorsinc.com.

More in Computers