New cyber security standards to ensure military trusted computing expected soon from Pentagon authorities

Feb. 5, 2020
The CMMC is a tiered cyber security framework that grades companies on a scale of one to five ranging from basic to advanced cyber hygiene.

WASHINGTON – The first version of new cyber security standards the Pentagon wants military contractors to follow could be finalized soon. Fifth Domain reports. Continue reading original article

The Military & Aerospace Electronics take:

5 Feb. 2020 -- The Cyber Security Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a tiered cyber security framework that grades companies on a scale of one to five. A score of one designates basic hygiene and a five represents advanced hygiene. The lowest level will become the default for Department of Defense contracts and will include basic tasks such as changing passwords.

The requirements are expected to be free of jargon and overly technical language that can often make military documents befuddling.

The trusted-computing requirement is not expected to become a simple checklist, because otherwise this attempt at trusted computing guidelines could fail. Moreover, the framework be reevaluated at least once each year because cyber threats should continue to evolve.

Related: Pentagon to issue cyber security standards to provide trusted computing for military supply chain

Related: Cyber security a top priority, as Pentagon vows to help companies meet trusted computing certification

Related: The different trusted computing and cyber security approaches for embedded computing and enterprise systems

John Keller, chief editor
Military & Aerospace Electronics

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Military Aerospace, create an account today!