U.S. military allies want to participate in Pentagon's latest cyber security, information warfare standards

March 16, 2020
Standards designed to set a level playing field for contractors, and increase the cyber security of companies with sensitive military secrets.

WASHINGTON – Following the release of the first version of new cyber security standards for contractors bidding on programs, the Department of Defense is focusing on international adoption of the framework. Fifth Domain reports. Continue reading original article

The Military & Aerospace Electronics take:

16 March 2020 -- The Cyber Security Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) 1.0, released in January, is a tiered cyber security framework that grades companies on a scale of one to five based on the level of classification and security that necessary for the work they are performing.

These standards were designed not only to set a level playing field for contractors, but also to increase the cyber security of companies that possess sensitive secrets tied to the Pentagon programs they work on.

The U.S., its allies, and partners find themselves involved in a daily high-stakes information warfare battle against sophisticated actors such as China and Russia, which have discovered that defense companies that support the military are juicy targets.

Related: Meeting DFARS and NIST regulations for military applications -- not just a check box for trusted computing

Related: Navy signals growing importance of cyber and information warfare in switching SPAWAR name to NAVWAR

Related: U.S. military cyber warfare and cyber security strategies take aggressive approach, but what are the risks?

John Keller, chief editor
Military & Aerospace Electronics

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Military Aerospace, create an account today!